Academic Council

The Academic Council shall be the principal academic authority of the Institute and shall subject to the Memorandum of Associations and the rules, bye-laws, have the control and the general regulation of teaching and Examination within the Institute and be responsible for the maintenance of the standard and shall exercise such other powers and perform such other duties as may be prescribed.

The Academic council shall consist of the following persons.

Ex-Officio Members
  • The Vice Chancellor (Chair Person)
  • All the members of the Syndicate
  • Deans of Faculties
  • Professors/Heads of the Departments of the Institute and the staff next to the Dean in the Departments where Dean is the Head of the Department.
  • The Director of Collegiate Education of TamilNadu or his nominee.

Other Members Four Readers and Four Lectures of the Institute, one in Home Science, One in Science, One in Humanities and One in Education by rotation in

order of seniority to be nominated by the Chancellor.
  • Two Professors of academic distinction from other institutions nominated by the Chancellor on the recommendations of the Vice-Chancellor.
  • Six members nominated by the Chancellor from a panel of twelve names recommended by the Vice-Chancellor to represent different fields with reference to the objectives of the Institute.
  • Two educationist nominated by the Chancellor from a panel of four names recommended by the Avinashilingam Education Trust.

Academic Members List... To view