• Department of Physics
  • Department profile

    Department of Physics was established in the year 1958, initially teaching pre-university physics to women students. It has developed to a department offering research degrees to women students hailing from rural, urban and international status. It nurtures under graduate and post graduate students in Physics, to learn the laws that govern the entire Universe. The department’s core aim is to make a behavioral change in the students, to develop themselves, to the benefit of the society and to the mankind at large. The department has well qualified and vibrant teachers in spading towards the set goal. All the activities of the department are darted in achieving excellence through frontier research and to impart wide and deep knowledge in physics. The department has shaped competent physicists and educationalists in the past and continues the same. The research grants are received and industrial linkages are made towards the development of the department

    Vision of the Department:

    Inculcate scientific temper among student community and to promote the spirit of science education and research through teaching and create a human resource with strong foundation and skills.

    Mission of the Department:

    Establish and sustain a conducive learning environment for promoting science education through object oriented teaching and research

    Genesis and Growth:
    • Inception in 1958 – subjects taught for Pre-University degree students
    • 1978 - Introduction of Physics as a major subject in the triple major pattern (undergraduate), when institution is conferred with autonomous status. Physics was offered in combination with Mathematics, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Home Science
    • 1984 - Introduction of Physics as a single major with two ancillaries
    • 1989 - Introduction of Physics as a major subject in double major pattern. Physics was offered in combination with Mathematics, Chemistry and Special Education
    • 2001*- Introduction of postgraduate programme in "Energy Science"
    • 2003 - Introduction of M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmmes
    • 2004**- Introduction of an add-on certificate course in "Electronics"
    • 2006 - Introduction of postgraduate programme in "Physics"
    • 2007 - Resumption of Physics as a single major with two ancillaries
    * The Programme was offered for a period of four years
    ** The course was conducted for a period of five years with seed money from UGC


    • Empowering undergraduate and postgraduate students to meet out the expected programme educational outcomes
    • Empowering the research scholars to acquire positions in the reputed institutions/ laboratories and pursue their research in the identified thrust areas
    Faculty Members
    Dr. (Mrs.) J. Shanthi, Professor & Head
    Dr. (Mrs.) N. S. Rajeswari, Assistant Professor (SG)
    Dr. (Mrs.) S. Anitha, Assistant Professor (SS)
    Dr. (Mrs.) V. Sasirekha, Assistant Professor (SG)
    Dr. (Mrs.) B. Nalini, Assistant Professor(SS)
    Self-supporting Staff
    Dr. (Mrs.) G. Kiruthiga, Teaching Assistant (Temp.)
    Ms. V. Bhuvaneshwari, Teaching Assistant (Temp.)
    Mrs.N.Nithyaa, Teaching Assistant & Research Fellow (Temp.)
    Thrust area of Research:
    • Crystallography
    • Thin Film Technology (Polymer and Inorganic materials)
    • Nuclear Physics
    • Molecular Quantum Mechanics and application to Bio-Molecules
    • Solar Thermal Energy Utilization
    • Photovoltaic Devices
    • Solid State Ionics, Energy Storage Devices, Sensors

    The Department of Physics focuses on novel materials synthesis, characterization, device fabrication and analysis towards energy devices. The innovative materials developed in our department involve hydrophobic coating materials, electrodes for photovoltaic cell, high performance components for all solid state battery and super capacitors. Molecular dynamic studies are also involved in bringing up novel materials. The department is equipped with facilities to synthesize and characterize the materials for various applications darted towards Energy storage and conservation. The prospective growth of the department is to develop a Centre of Excellence for energy materials and devices through acquisition of start-up grants, filing patents and ending up in commercialization of products contributing towards energy sustainability.

  • Programmes Offered

    Programmes Offered
    • B.Sc.  Physics
    • M.Sc.  Physics *
    • Ph.D.   Physics


    • B.Sc. : Plus two (+2) Science Group with Mathematics
    • M.Sc. * : B.Sc., Physics / Physics and Chemistry double majors with Mathematics as ancillary
    • Ph.D. : M. Sc. Physics (with or without M. Phil. in Physics)

    * Self Supporting Programmes

  • Syllabus
  • Facilities

    Two labs, one undergraduate lab and one postgraduate lab, equipped well hosting all necessary equipments for the students to develop their practical skill. One solar lab, on the terrace, is available to carry out solar thermal experiments. One research lab dedicated to host the sophisticated instruments with necessary amenities like water supply, air - conditioning is available. Necessary equipments namely vacuum ovens, pumps, furnaces are available.

    Major research equipments available in the Department

    X-Ray Diffractometer (PANalytical) (Bharat Ratna Prof. C. N. R. Rao Research Centre))

    UV-Vis-NIR Spectrophotometer (JASCO)

    Hall Measurement System (ECOPIA)

    Electrochemical Impedance Spectrometer (Biologic)

    Screen Printer (Atma)

    Spectroflourometer RF (Shimadzu)

  • Faculty Profile
    Staff Photo Name of the Faculty Designation Specialization Year of Joining Email id

    Dr.(Mrs.) J.Shanthi
    M.Sc.,M.Phil., Ph.D.,

    Professor and HOD Thin films and surface coating 1991 [email protected]
    [email protected]

    M.Sc., M.Phil., M.C.A., SLET, Ph.D.,

    Assistant Professor -SG
    Nuclear Physics 2004 [email protected],


    Assistant Professor (SS) Molecular Quantum Mechanics 2006 [email protected],

    Dr.(Mrs.) V.Sasirekha
    M.Sc., Ph.D., SET., HDCA

    Assistant Professor (SG) Photovoltaic Devices, Molecular Quantum Mechanics 2011 [email protected]

    Dr.(Mrs.) B.Nalini
    M.Sc., Ph.D., M.S. Edu.Mgt.
    Assistant Professor (SS) Solid State Ionics, Nanotechnology, Gas sensors 2011 [email protected],
      Self Supporting Staff        

    M.Sc., M.Phil., PGDCA.,(Ph.D)
    Assistant Professor (Temporary) Thin Film Technology DSSC Fabrication , TCO construction, utilization of Solar energy 2016 [email protected]

    M.Sc., M.Phil.,
    Teaching Assistant & Research Fellow (Temporary) Nuclear Physics 2019 [email protected]
    Mrs. Nithyaa.N
    M. Sc., M.Phil., (Ph. D.)
    Temporary Teaching Assistant & Research Fellow Thin Films, Material Science, Photocatalyst, Nanocomposites 2021 [email protected]
  • Publications

Last updated on 06.07.2022