Skip to main content
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2

Department Of Physics

Department of Physics was established in the year 1958, initially teaching pre-university physics to women students. It has developed to a department offering research degrees to women students hailing from rural, urban and international status. It nurtures under graduate and post graduate students in Physics, to learn the laws that govern the entire Universe. The department’s core aim is to make a behavioral change in the students, to develop themselves, to the benefit of the society and to the mankind at large. The department has well qualified and vibrant teachers in spading towards the set goal. All the activities of the department are darted in achieving excellence through frontier research and to impart wide and deep knowledge in physics. The department has shaped competent physicists and educationalists in the past and continues the same. The research grants are received and industrial linkages are made towards the development of the department

Genesis and Growth:
  • Inception in 1958 – subjects taught for Pre-University degree students
  • 1978 - Introduction of Physics as a major subject in the triple major pattern (undergraduate), when institution is conferred with autonomous status. Physics was offered in combination with Mathematics, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Home Science
  • 1984 - Introduction of Physics as a single major with two ancillaries
  • 1989 - Introduction of Physics as a major subject in double major pattern. Physics was offered in combination with Mathematics, Chemistry and Special Education
  • 2001*- Introduction of postgraduate programme in "Energy Science"
  • 2003 - Introduction of M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmmes
  • 2004**- Introduction of an add-on certificate course in "Electronics"
  • 2006 - Introduction of postgraduate programme in "Physics"
  • 2007 - Resumption of Physics as a single major with two ancillaries

* The Programme was offered for a period of four years
** The course was conducted for a period of five years with seed money from UGC

  • Empowering undergraduate and postgraduate students to meet out the expected programme educational outcomes
  • Empowering the research scholars to acquire positions in the reputed institutions/ laboratories and pursue their research in the identified thrust areas

Faculty Members
Dr. (Mrs.) J. Shanthi, Professor & Head
Dr. (Mrs.) N. S. Rajeswari, Assistant Professor (SG)
Dr. (Mrs.) S. Anitha, Assistant Professor
Dr. (Mrs.) V. Sasirekha, Assistant Professor (SS)
Dr. (Mrs.) B. Nalini, Assistant Professor

Self-supporting Staff
Dr. (Mrs.) G. Kiruthiga, Teaching Assistant (Temp.)
Ms. V. Bhuvaneshwari, Teaching Assistant (Temp.)
Mrs.N.Nithyaa, Teaching Assistant & Research Fellow (Temp.)

Thrust area of Research:
  • Crystallography
  • Thin Film Technology (Polymer and Inorganic materials)
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Molecular Quantum Mechanics and application to Bio-Molecules
  • Solar Thermal Energy Utilization
  • Photovoltaic Devices
  • Solid State Ionics, Energy Storage Devices, Sensors

The Department of Physics focuses on novel materials synthesis, characterization, device fabrication and analysis towards energy devices. The innovative materials developed in our department involve hydrophobic coating materials, electrodes for photovoltaic cell, high performance components for all solid state battery and super capacitors. Molecular dynamic studies are also involved in bringing up novel materials. The department is equipped with facilities to synthesize and characterize the materials for various applications darted towards Energy storage and conservation. The prospective growth of the department is to develop a Centre of Excellence for energy materials and devices through acquisition of start-up grants, filing patents and ending up in commercialization of products contributing towards energy sustainability.

Saratha here to assist youX
Hello! I'm Saratha, How can I help you ?

Last Update :